It’s a Mad, Mad World

I’m just playing with sounds and rhythms and words in this post, seeing how they connect and affect each other. So don’t get hung up trying to understand every detail. 😉 But feel free to comment and let me know your thoughts and impressions!

It’s a Mad, Mad World
by Beth Turner

Enter THINKER

THINKER

Rhythmic. Almost chanting or singing.
Spoken as if spinning, twirling.
Like a wobbling toy top.

 It’s a mad, mad world.

A world of twisting, twirling,   sanity, striving,   mad, mad world.

It’s a would,   a word,
a world of tossing balls, of catching balls, of hunting balls,
a world of fuzzy lint, of hungry lint, of crying calling
It’s a mad, mad world.

It’s a crazy, hide-it, crazy, quiet, crazy buy-it world.
It’s a run around, don’t slow down, mad, mad world!
It’s a yell-at-Mom, pretend I’m gone, cry and scream and shout.
It’s a hello there and a goodbye fear. A push, a tare, a tear.
It’s a mad, mad world.

Help me, tear me, scream me, cut me, hold me, leave me, hunt me, eat me World.
It’s a mad, mad world.

THINKER sits cross-legged on the floor.
                                                                                                                                  Enter CURIOSITY.
The following discussion moves quickly.

CURIOSITY
What are you?

THINKER
What am I?

CURIOSITY
Yes, what are you?

THINKER
Good question.

CURIOSITY
20 questions?

THINKER
Sure

CURIOSITY
Are you a place?

THINKER
What is a place?

CURIOSITY
What is a place? Surely you know a place!

THINKER
Do I?

CURIOSITY
A place is a plane of existence.

THINKER
Oh

CURIOSITY
Are you a place?

THINKER
Am I a plane of existence?

CURIOSITY
You tell me

THINKER
Maybe

CURIOSITY
Well, are you a thing?

THINKER
A what?

CURIOSITY
An object. Something tangible. Unless it’s an idea.

THINKER
Am I tangible?
I can feel myself. But if I feel myself, does that make me tangible? Or could I feel myself even if I weren’t here?
Am I an idea?

CURIOSITY
I don’t know. Maybe you’re not a place or a thing or an idea. Are you a person?

THINKER
How is a person different from a thing?

CURIOSITY
A person has life.

THINKER
So do things.

CURIOSITY
But things are different.

THINKER
How?

CURIOSITY
I don’t know.

THINKER
What is life?

CURIOSITY
The state of being alive

THINKER
And what is alive?

CURIOSITY
Having life….

THINKER
So a place is a plane of existence. A thing is a tangible object. But it’s different from a person because a person can feel itself and has life which is the state of being alive which is having life.

CURIOSITY
I’m losing interest.

THINKER
When you lose interest, do you fade away?

CURIOSITY
I don’t know.

CURIOSITY walks offstage.

THINKER
When you lose interest, you fade away. Unless you’re the only one there.

                                                                                                                           THINKER stands to walk offstage.

THINKER
But if you’re the only one—are you?

Exit THINKER.

THE END

Leave a Reply

